Jack, the Novel

The Visitor

The continuation of the Novel, "Jack," serialized. Full novel to be published in May, 2013. (Read earlier chapters in the January, 2013, archives above)


 Chapter 17
 The Visitor
                             
Charleston, South Carolina, during the Civil War. 
Charleston Harbor
 in background. Civil War
era lithograph

  
 At four o’clock that day a knock on the door came that I’d been a’fearin' all afternoon. I waited on my belly at the top of the stairs, having earlier decided to stay in my room all afternoon like I was sick. I listened, my ears straining to hear any of the conversation.

     “Good afternoon Mrs. Foster. Sorry to intrude but there was an incident today involving some malicious damage to the school and there is some evidence that, unfortunately, Jeremy may have been involved.”

Read more »

Leave a Reply

