Blogging: Tips and Leads

The Shocking Truth About Most Small Businesses – Jeffbullas’s Blog

 

by G Dorion

Well, I’m about to kick my Volusion website (the Silverlight Store) into a higher gear after this week when my test run of 11 hour days (15 in a row) at a local mall will end and I’ll be free again, well, relatively speaking that is. Ever sit at a mall cart for 11 hours in a row watching people pass by the dozens while getting a visitor every half-hour maybe? Not fun. You definitely have to find things to do or you’ll go nuts.

1-IMG_1434

The Silverlight Store Mall Cart (only nine hours to go!)

Anyway, I’m almost free to end this test run and focus on my downtown, Main Street, Nashua, N.H. store again and try to boost sales as much as possible so I can take my third trip to India, fourth to Thailand, etc.

1-IMG_1064

The Silverlight Store, 213 Main Street, Nashua, N.H.

The last time I left US shores was about three years ago where I relished my time diving every other day,  although the Jamaican reefs have been largely fished out and diving there isn’t as fun as it used to be.

 

SONY DSC

Negril, Jamaica

 

Off St. Thomas a while back, 100 barracuda swam right by me about 25 feet away – they were hunting the reef and fortunately not me. That’s the kind of diving I’m talking about though. Anyway, what does all that have to do with the title of this article I found in my email this morning? Well, that’s a good question and it has a simple answer. If you’re going to have a web site as a small business –  I have several – you’ve got to know what you are trying to do with it and how to achieve your goals. You definitely have to be persistent and constantly be engaged with your site and audience. Most small businesses apparently do not have a web site. The ones that have one do so for one primary purpose:  to make money – I mean, why else? And that’s what I want mine to do. I keep thinking that some day, they will explode (figuratively and money-wise, I hope) and I’ll be back in India or Istanbul or wherever enjoying my life a little more rather than doing what I have been doing now for three years: running to reach the goal of economic freedom. Anyway, I liked this article entitled, “The Shocking Truth About Most Small Businesses” and think it will be quite useful. I am going to try to apply its tidbits of e-commerce wisdom to my websites. I’m at the mall now where I’m writing this blurb while listening to the most driving, mechanistic, automaton-like music I’ve ever heard coming from Abercrombie & Fitch which is right in front of me (been listening to it 14 days now – a manager from a nearby store told me “it’s driving me nuts!”) It’s not driving me nuts but it is telling me: “Leave this place of corporate conformity and boredom.” I got it. I always wanted to try a cart in fast-paced mall like this one. Okay, I tried it. Now I want freedom from corporate monotony which is coming soon, for me at least. Hey, if you don’t like your situation, change it! That’s always been my motto.

Anyway, here’s the link and I hope you will find it as valuable as I hope to. Oh, don’t forget to visit my site (shameless, I know but, if I don’t promote my own business, who will? And my own personal e-commerce guru once said it in one of his articles – something like ‘you have to shamelessly promote yourself.’ Okay, good message. And here’s the link: The Shocking Truth About Most Small Businesses – Jeffbullas’s Blog

Leave a Reply

