antebellum

Jack: A rebel’s rebel in antebellum Charleston

Well, I finally am nearly ready to publish my antebellum Charleston, S.C., novel, Jack, after about a dozen years. Actually I will be coming out with the Part 1 in the trilogy although much of the book is complete. At this point I am doing the tedious work of arranging the 90,000 plus words on a Create Space formatted 5″ x 8.5″ framework.  I had delayed it another year because – a flimsy excuse really – the cover illustration done by Inga Shavashvili, of Georgia (the one near Russia), had some of the letters too close to the edge of the page so that when the book would get printed parts of some text would have been cut off.

I had tried a few hours to fix it. Then I just got busy with other things – moving from NYC to New Hampshire and setting up a new store in Nashua. Anyway, I finally texted Inga and, voila, she had it fixed within an hour. I’m glad anyway that waited because I needed to give it one final comprehensive edit.

Any writers looking for an excellent illustrator, please send a request to dorion9@gmail.com and I’ll get back to you. Part 1 should be out within the next two weeks. I’ll be giving out some promotional digital PDF copies in the first month so, if you want one, press the “Follow” button on the top sideline of for this site and I’ll send you a link for the free book.

Here is the revised cover that Inga did the other day. Please provide plenty of glowing comments for her work. Much appreciated. Cheers!

Inga Shalvashvili's cover illustration for my soon-to-be-published novel, Jack

Inga Shalvashvili’s cover illustration for my soon-to-be-published novel, Jack.

 

 

Leave a Reply

