authors

Update on “My Book is Out. Should I Make a Video Trailer? Oh My God! Put Myself on Video?”

So, this is an update to last week’s post which is re-published below entirely.

Anyway, thanks to all who shared this post and/or commented – I made my book trailer video and it came out, actually, really well for an amateur filmmaker (my first really). Maybe I have a career in film-making… what do you think? I used to tell my NYC students I have had more than 50 jobs in my life so far. Their jaws would drop – even adults are like, “What? Your joking!” No, not joke.
It was fun doing this video but it took a lot of persistence and more than a little aggravation (probably more due to my inexperience than to Movie Maker’s alleged kinks in its application – still, the extra 15 hours (I was figuring five tops) could have been due to quirks in the application. I would get to the end – thinking, wow, it’s done – and, distressingly, my recent additions and subtractions would simply disappear and I had no copies. If I had to give one piece of advice to newbie writers etc., I would tell them (I do not adhere to this myself) ALWAYS, ALWAYS, ALWAYS write on Notepad, or Google Docs or WordPress whatever it is you are posting on line. You will save yourself so much time and aggravation).
Anyway, to continue on with this rambling, I am pleased with the video result – I’m sort of a perfectionist and will spend an extra 15 minutes deleting the upload on YouTube, then going back to the drawing board on MovieMaker just to remove a comma that shouldn’t be there. In fact, every time I read my books before hitting that “publish” button on Amazon’s CreateSpace (I believe I can do the best job editing my own books because I’m an English teacher and I will take the trouble to kill that extraneous comma or whatever) I always find one more imperfection – it’s unreal. You think there couldn’t possibly be anything left that was out of place or incongruent and then, on the next read, voila! There it is: a giant, obvious, ludicrous, bizarre, and in-your-face mistake that should have been noticed on the second read (I read (that reads edit & revise) my novels beginning to end at least 100 times before I press “publish”. And still there are always things that need improvement. The truth is a novel can never be perfected or “finished” because it is so personally intertwined with the experiences of the writer and so it can so easily continue to evolve every time you look at it …

Here’s the link to my first book trailer: Jack, Pt 1

Here last week’s post:

“Alissa Grosso, “the Awkward Author,” – got to love that characterization – is the first author whose video on book trailers I checked out for the subject of making a book trailer where I would make the video myself.

I was reluctant about doing this video trailer thing but it’s for a good cause, I told myself. It would be for my newest novel, “Jack: Part 1 in the Trilogy,” published a week ago, and it may sell some books or at least promote the book in a new way. I had considered having it professionally done but I rather like the idea of doing one – in Alissa’s words – “home grown”. Sounds like it could be fun, too, and so I watched her video about book trailers and was captivated by her statement that she sort of goes about it so awkwardly. And then you watch her video about making book trailers and she is, refreshingly, a bit awkward but in a humorous way. I thought, well, I can do a book trailer with at least Alissa’s degree of awkwardness. Hell, I could probably surpass her there quite easily.

 Alissa Grosso

Alissa Grosso

I am right at the beginning of this trailer-making idea so I’m not going to talk too much about what I’m going to do or how I am going to do it. I don’t know yet. But I got inspiration from Alissa and will be viewing her other videos. You should give it a try too as it’s great to see other authors experimenting, learning and creating. And video is such a powerful lens for this to happen.  So stay tuned for my first attempts – I already took a baby step by writing this – at making a video trailer. Here is a link to Alissa’s You Tube video on making a book trailer. Enjoy! And don’t forget to join in the discussion below in the comments section.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l5aiEMKSF-0&feature=youtu.be

10 replies »

  1. Good point about just going for it when making a book trailer. Awkward or not, it helps book marketing! I made a few book trailers as well. I avoided speaking to the camera and made it more of a PowerPoint presentation. Sounds lame, but it wasn’t too bad. I used Apple’s iMovie for my latest trailer.

    Like

  2. I’ve been making a totally free video trailer for two nights now and it seems to be going well. But there always seems to be a few kinks in the final that need to be smoothed out. Will post it soon.

    Like

  3. Thanks to all who shared this post and/or commented – I made my book trailer video and it came out, actually, really well for an amateur filmmaker (my first really). Maybe I have a career in film-making… what do you think? I used to tell my NYC students I have had more than 50 jobs in my life so far. Their jaws would drop – even adults are like, “What? Your joking!” No, not joke.
    It was fun doing this video but it took a lot of persistence and more than a little aggravation (probably more due to my inexperience than to Movie Maker’s alleged kinks in its application – still, the extra 15 hours (I was figuring five tops) could have been due to quirks in the application. I would get to the end – thinking, wow, it’s done – and, distressingly, my recent additions and subtractions would simply disappear and I had no copies. If I had to give one piece of advice to newbie writers etc., I would tell them (I do not adhere to this myself) ALWAYS, ALWAYS, ALWAYS write on Notepad, or Google Docs or WordPress whatever it is you are posting on line. You will save yourself so much time and aggravation).
    Anyway, to continue on with this rambling, I am pleased with the video result – I’m sort of a perfectionist and will spend an extra 15 minutes deleting the upload on YouTube, then going back to the drawing board on MovieMaker just to remove a comma that shouldn’t be there. In fact, every time I read my books before hitting that “publish” button on Amazon’s CreateSpace (I believe I can do the best job editing my own books because I’m an English teacher and I will take the trouble to kill that extraneous comma or whatever) I always find one more imperfection – it’s unreal. You think there couldn’t possibly be anything left that was out of place or incongruent and then, on the next read, voila! There it is: a giant, obvious, ludicrous, bizarre, and in-your-face mistake that should have been noticed on the second read (I read (that reads edit & revise) my novels beginning to end at least 100 times before I press “publish”. And still there are always things that need improvement. The truth is a novel can never be perfected or “finished” because it is so personally intertwined with the experiences of the writer and so it can so easily continue to evolve every time you look at it …

    Like

Leave a Reply

